How the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act is combating smoking

4pm Sponsored

Utah recently passed the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act (UICAA).  The law prohibits smoking and electronic cigarette use in all enclosed indoor places of public access, prohibits smoking and vaping within 25 feet of any entranceway, exit, open window, or air intake of a building where smoking is prohibited.  Furthermore, the law requires businesses to place signs at all entrances or in a position that is clearly visible near the entrance.  

The Utah Indoor Clean Air Act addresses the dangers of secondhand smoke. Secondhand smoke comes from burning cigarettes, and from the smoke that people breathe out when they are smoking.  There is no safe level of secondhand smoke, and even brief exposure to it can be dangerous.  Secondhand smoke contains over 4,000 chemicals—50 of which are known to cause cancer.  It can also lead to heart disease, lung cancer, and many other health-related problems.  

From a business owner’s perspective, enforcement of this law is important for employee health and productivity, but also because associations, corporations, etc. who violate lawful orders of a health department can be subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 per occurrence, and misdemeanor criminal charges. It is the responsibility of the business or establishment to enforce the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, it is not enforced by the police.

If you need free Clean Air Act signs for your business, or if you need to report a violation of the Clean Air Act or you can visit tobaccofreeutah.org.

This story contains sponsored content

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.