Utah’s new mask requirements: what you need to know


SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (ABC 4 News) – They don’t call it a mask mandate.

But, on Tuesday, Gov. Gary Herbert and state leaders outlined a new set of policies around combating COVID-19 in Utah, a state Herbert says has one of the worst outbreaks in the nation.

Currently, there are six counties rated as high transmission — and these counties will now have requirements to wear a mask when at an indoor public place, like a gas station or grocery store:

Cache County, Garfield County, Juan County, Salt Lake County, Utah County and Wasatch County.

The high transmission counties will be designated as such for a minimum of two weeks.

In these counties, you’re also required to wear a mask outdoors when physical distancing isn’t feasible.

Even if you don’t live in one of these counties, you’ll be required to wear a mask during public gatherings. These include concerts, movie theaters, sporting events — even weddings.

For more information, please visit: https://coronavirus.utah.gov/utah-health-guidance-levels/

Click here to download the ABC4 Utah News app for the first alerts on your phone. Sign up for the ABC4 Utah breaking news and daily newsletters.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Utah VP Debate

More Utah Debate