Supreme Court blocks measure to split California into 3 states


SAN FRANCISCO (AP) – The California Supreme Court has blocked a measure that would divide the state in three from appearing on November ballot.

The measure proposed to split California into the three following states:

Northern California: This would include the Bay Area and the 31 remaining counties north of Sacramento.

California: This will be considered the new state which includes Los Angeles, Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey and San Benito counties.

Southern California: San Diego, San Bernardino, Orange, Riverside, Mono, Madera, Inyo, Tulare, Fresno, Kings, Kern and Imperial counties.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Utah Coronavirus

More Coronavirus Updates


More In Focus

Justice Files

More Justice Files