SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (ABC4) — Candidates from Utah political parties have been determined for the special election to replace Rep. Chris Stewart (R-Farmington).

The following candidates will appear on the Sept. 5 primary ballot for the 2nd U.S. Congressional District, which includes over 830,000 citizens in portions of Salt Lake, Davis, Tooele, Juab, Millard, Sevier, Beaver, Piute, Wayne, Iron, Garfield, Iron, and Kane counties:

  • Joe Buchman (unaffiliated)
  • Cassie Easley (Constitution nominee)
  • Becky Edwards (Republican, filed by signature)
  • Bradley Garth Green (Libertarian nominee)
  • Celeste Maloy (Republican nominee)
  • Perry T. Myers (Unaffiliated)
  • Kathleen Riebe (Democratic nominee)
  • January Walker (United Utah nominee)

The winner of the election will serve out the rest of current 2nd Dist. Rep. Chris Stewart’s term. Stewart formally declared his resignation, effective Sept. 15, citing his wife’s health concerns.

Overall, 22 candidates originally filed to run for the Congressional District 2 seat. While Edwards was not chosen as the Republican nominee, she was able to officially obtain the 7,000 signatures needed to get onto the ballot. Utah Businessman Bruce Hough also sought signatures and according to he obtained the verified signatures and will also be on the ballot.

Gov. Spencer Cox has issued two proclamations regarding the special elections. The first establishes a timeline for the election and the second calling for a special session of the Utah Legislature to appropriate funds for the special election and change the Utah municipal election dates as well as address any other election issues.

Primary elections, if needed, will be held on September 5 with the special election on November 21, along with Utah’s municipal elections.