Stuart Adams elected as President of Utah State Senate


SALT LAKE CITY (ABC4 News) – The Utah Senate elected new leadership Thursday night.

Senator J. Stuart Adams was elected to serve as the President of the Utah State Senate. Representing District 22 in Davis County since 2009, he served as Majority Whip for the past six years and previously served four and half years in the Utah House of Representatives.

Also elected to the leadership team:

 “We will make every effort to be transparent and accessible as we represent our individual constituents, and the collective citizens of Utah. The new team is looking forward to working closely with members of the House Leadership team and the Governor’s Office to maintain Utah’s place as the best state in the nation,” said Adams.

Adams said as Utah’s population grows the leadership’s priorities are education and workforce development as well as the development of physical infrastructures like water, transportation, and land use. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Inside Utah Politics Logo

Glen Mills

Chief Political Correspondent

 Glen is honored to be delivering the news of the day every weeknight at 5, 6, and 10 in his home state. He is an award-winning veteran journalist, who joined the ABC4 News team as a weekend anchor in June 2013. Over the years, he held various positions at the station as he worked his way up to the main anchor chair. He also serves as our Senior Political Correspondent and hosts Inside Utah Politics, which airs every Sunday. The Utah Headliners Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists has recognized Glen as the best government and military television reporter in the state. Before returning home to Utah, he spent 11 1/2 years developing his journalism skills in other states. He held various on-air and management positions at KPVI in Pocatello, Idaho, WGBA in Green Bay, Wisconsin, and KKCO in Grand Junction, Colorado during that time. Read More...