(ABC4) – Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt recently signed a bill that would prohibit the use of nonbinary gender markers on state birth certificates. This kind of ban is the first of its kind in the country.

While many states only offer male or female options for birth certificates, Oklahoma becomes the first state to write off nonbinary as completely prohibited.

Currently, 13 states and Washington D.C. offer non-binary birth certificates

Here are the states that currently offer these types of birth certificates:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Washington D.C.

The U.S State Department recently announced it had issued its first passport with an “X” gender designation.

This announcement comes after 15 other countries allowed “non-binary” as a gender identifier on their passports.

Non-binary driver’s licenses and state IDs are only issued in 25 states so far.

Utah is among these states that offer both options of non-binary birth certificates and driver’s licenses.