WASHINGTON, D.C. (ABC4) – House Republicans are co-sponsoring legislation that would prevent any flags, other than the American flag, from flying over embassies.

That includes the Black Lives Matter and the rainbow LGBTQ+ Pride flag, according to the bill’s sponsors.

Dubbed the ‘Old Glory Only Act,’ which you can read below, any flag other than Old Glory would be prohibited from flying over U.S. diplomatic and consular posts.

The bill’s primary sponsor, Representative Jeff Duncan (R-SC), first introduced the bill in 2018 after the State Department official put a rainbow flag over a South American embassy. H.R. 85 was reintroduced in January of this year.

A release from Rep. Duncan says Secretary of State Antony Blinken recently authorized all U.S. embassies and consulates overseas to fly the BLM flag. The rainbow LGBTQ+ Pride flag was also recently authorized to fly on the same pole as the American flag at embassies and consulates.

The bill currently has 30 Republican cosponsors, including Representatives Matt Gaetz from Florida and Majorie Taylor Greene of Georgia. No Democrats have cosponsored the bill.

Greene released a statement about the legislation in February, saying in part:

“The federal government should only be flying the flag that represents ALL people, the American flag. We need to bring back pride in our country and raise the Star Spangled Banner proudly. Old Glory represents our great American military and their sacrifices to ensure our freedom. This isn’t a political issue. This is about Patriotism, and we need more of it.”

As of June 8, the ‘Old Glory Only Act’ has been referred to the House Committee on Foreign Affairs. You can read the full text of the bill here:

Click the square in the bottom right corner for full screen.