What agencies are affected by the government shutdown?

Local News

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (ABC4 News) – The state of Utah is home to 29,184 federal employees, according to Governing.com. Federal employees have been working without pay or have been furloughed during the partial government shutdown.

Here’s the list of departments working without pay:

  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
  • Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Customs and Border Protection
  • State Department  (some of these employees have been furloughed)
  • Coast Guard
  • Internal Revenue Service (some of these employees have been furloughed)
  • Department of Homeland Security 

List of departments that have been furloughed: 

  • NASA
  • National Park Service
  • Forest Service
  • Transportation Department
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development 

There is help for federal employees affected by the shutdown. 

Catholic Community Services is one place you can turn to. CCS has opened up their food pantry to federal employees. You will need to bring your federal I.D. Card or your last pay stub to receive their help. You can find more information, here.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Utah Coronavirus

More Coronavirus Updates


More In Focus

Justice Files

More Justice Files

Trending Stories