Three finalists chosen for The University of Utah’s next president

Local News
University of Utah implements new sexual assault policies_28539473

SALT LAKE CITY (ABC4) – Following a national search, three finalists have been recommended to the Utah Board of Higher Education to become the University of Utah‘s next president.

The finalists- Jayathi Y. Murphy, Ph.D., Taylor R. Randall, Ph.D., and Carrie L. Byington, M.D.- will meet with faculty, staff, students, trustees, and administration and participate in public meetings on Wednesday, August 2, 2021. The public will have the opportunity to ask each candidate questions.

The public meetings will take place in the University of Utah Marriott Library Gould Auditorium. Members of the campus community and the public are welcome to attend in-person or virtual sessions at

To share feedback on the candidates, participants can send an email to or submit feedback anonymously by candidate at There is also the option to submit written comments during the presentations on August 4. All feedback must be given that day before midnight.

Currently, the Utah Board of Education is planning a public meeting at Rice-Eccles Stadium at 5 p.m. to choose the University’s next president.

The candidates will present at the following times on August 4, 2021:

Jayathi Y. Murphy- 12:30 p.m. to 1:15 p.m.

Taylor R. Randall- 1:45 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Carrie L. Byington- 3:00 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.

Visit to learn about each candidate.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Utah Coronavirus

More Coronavirus Updates