LDS Church leaders announce mission adjustments

Local News

Leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are making adjustments to missions. 

Thursday The Church announced boundary realignments for 19 missions, as well as five new missions opening this year. These adjustments mean the church will now have 407 missions, instead of 421.

“Since President Thomas S. Monson announced in 2012 the change in the ages for missionary service, the Church has created 76 new missions to accommodate a surge of growth in only a few years, from 58,000 to 88,000 missionaries,” a statement from The Church said. “The initial wave of missionaries has since receded to about 68,000 missionaries, as anticipated.”

As a result church leaders say in July 2018 the following missions will realign boundaries and merge with nearby missions:

  • Australia Sydney North
  • Bulgaria Sofia
  • California Modesto
  • California San Fernando
  • England London South
  • Greece Athens
  • Illinois Chicago West
  • México Ciudad Obregón
  • México Reynosa
  • Mississippi Jackson
  • New York New York South
  • Ohio Cleveland
  • Portugal Porto
  • România/Moldova
  • Russia Samara
  • Spain Málaga
  • Ukraine L’viv
  • Utah Logan
  • Washington Federal Way

Also in July, leaders say these five new missions will open: Brazil Rio de Janeiro South; Cote d’Ivoire Yamoussoukro;Nigeria Ibadan; Philippines Cabanatuan;Zimbabwe Bulawayo.

“We want missionaries to be in the best possible place and position to help people, whether through sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ or community service,” said General Authority Seventy Elder Brent H. Nielson, Executive Director of the Missionary Department.

For a list of assignments for new mission presidents click here.

See the complete announcement from church leaders here.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.