Eastern Utah counties now under fire restrictions

Local News

EASTERN UTAH (ABC4 Utah)- With dry conditions, high temperatures, and the risk of a another fire starting officials have implemented fire restrictions for Eastern Utah counties.

Currently in northern Utah Davis, Morgan, Salt Lake, Tooele, and Utah counties are all under restrictions. In southern Utah Washington, Iron, Beaver, Kane, Garfield, Mojave and Coconino Counties are restricted.

Starting Friday, June 29th, Carbon, Emery, Grand, San Juan, Uintah, Duchesne, and Daggett counties will join the other counties.

These restrictions include state, BLM, and National Park lands. Check with your city for specific fire restriction areas.

This means no campfires, smoking, or exploding target shooting.

Here’s a list of specifics from fire agencies:

The restriction orders are specific to each agency and may contain different stipulations, but all the orders have in common a prohibition of the following acts:

1. No campfires, except in permanently constructed cement or metal fire pits provided in developed campgrounds and picnic areas.

2. No smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area that is paved, barren or cleared to mineral soil.

In addition, metal cutting, welding and grinding activities in areas of dry vegetation as well as discharging, or using any kind of fireworks, firing steel tipped/core ammunition, tracer ammunition or other pyrotechnic devices including exploding targets are prohibited on BLM and State/Private Unincorporated lands.

These restrictions do not apply to the Manti-La Sal and Ashley National Forest Service lands.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.